Unofficial Rulebook

From Hex Compendium
Jump to: navigation, search

This page is used for rules reference until an official rule-book has been released. All rules stated here have a reference to an official statement describing the rule. The Table of Contents is at the bottom of the article due to its size.

Card Parts

Cost

X-cost

  • Playing a card is the only way to assign a value to X. [1]

Defense

  • If a troop has damage on it greater than or equal to its defense, it dies. [2]
    • This check is not made while a link is currently resolving on the chain. [3]
  • Taking damage does not lower a troop's defense. [4]
  • When an effect refers to the DEF of a troop, it refers to that troops defense. [5]

Threshold

  • If a power says that the threshold of a card becomes another threshold, a permanent modifier is added to the card with that information. [6]

Card Types

Actions

  • An action that targets and is played from hand will check for valid targets at three stages: [7]
    1. When the action is in hand. If not all mandatory targets can be met, the action can't be played. [8]
    2. When playing the action. Targets are chosen at this time. [9]
    3. When the action resolves. [10]
  • An action for which all targets have become illegal will be interrupted. [11]
  • If an action card is in play, it is immediately voided without any effect. [12]

Resources

  • Resources doesn't use the chain. [13]
  • If a resource card is in play, it is immediately voided without any effect. [14]

Equipment

  • Equipment only modifies cards that are created, transformed, or entered the game under your control or in one of your zones. [15]

Game Concepts

Armor

  • If multiple troops attacks a champion with armor, the troops' damage is prevented in order of oldest to newest in term of time-stamps. [16]

Basic

Basic is a label that appears on some powers, and on the typelines. Basic means, "play this card/use this power only during your Main Phase, while you have priority, and while the chain is empty." [17]

Battle

Some cards may cause two or more troops to "battle" one another. When two troops battle, they each deal damage equal to their to the other troop. [18]

  • Both troops must be in play to battle. If one of the troops is no longer in play, no longer a troop, or no longer a legal target for a targeted power that would cause it to battle, the battle no longer takes place. [19]
  • Damage dealt in a battle is not combat damage. [20]
  • In the event that more than two troops are battling, each troop deals damage equal to their ATK to all other troops they’re battling. All battles are concluded before pre-priority processing is run, and troops with fatal damage on them die. [21]
  • If a troop battles itself it only deals the damage once. [22]

Burn

  • A champion taking damage due to a burning counter deals damage to itself. [23]

Bury

Some cards bury cards from a champion's deck. To bury cards is to move them from the top of that champion's deck to that champion's crypt. [24]

Charge power

  • Some cards reference “a charge power.” A charge power is any champion power that removes charges as part of its cost. Any card that copies or gains the powers of a champion is also considered a charge power. [25]
  • If a card has a charge power with a negative charge cost, you will not gain charges when activating the charge power. [26]

Choose at random

Some cards will have the power to "choose one at random." These cards randomly select one of their powers to activate at the specified timing, and complete their power. [27]

Combat

  • If a troop leaves play while in combat, that troop leaves combat. [28]
    • If a troop reenters play during the same combat phase, the troop does not reenter combat. [29]
  • The combat phase occurs even if there doesn't exist a troop able to enter combat. [30]

Copies

  • A copy is always created or transformed into the copied target. [31]
  • A created copy comes into existence in the zone specified by the effect that creates it. [32]
    • A copy created from a card on the chain comes into existence on the chain if nothing else is specified. [33]
  • A copy get all modifiers that the copied card had. [34]
    • The modifiers on the copy has the same duration as the original. [35]
    • Powers that are indefinite modifiers are not copied over in the creation/transformation of copies. [36]
  • A copy does not copy damage. [37]
  • A copy has the same attributes (ATK, DEF, cost, shard, threshold, type, traits, uniqueness flag) and powers as the card it copied. [38]
  • 1-SHOT powers are not restored to the copy if the original card has used its 1-SHOT powers. [39]
  • If the original card had a gem in it, the gem is also socketed into the copy. [40]
  • If the copy has any targets, you may choose new targets for the copy. [41]
  • If the original troop was Unique, the copy is as Unique to the uniqueness violation(s). [42]
  • Troops that are copied are independent from their source once they're created or transformed. [43]

Counters

Some cards will use counters. Such cards will tell you what those counters do. [44]

  • If a card refers to a counter; it’s referring to a counter on itself unless otherwise specified that it interacts with other counters. [45]
  • Counters remain on cards when they move through zones, unless otherwise stated. [46]
  • Counters are considered modifiers. [47]

Create

Some cards create other cards. Such powers will tell you what zones the created cards are put into and what special powers the card will have. [48]

  • Created cards function just like a normal HEX card. [49]
  • If a created card is reverted, it'll revert back to the way it entered the game. [50]
  • If a card should be created "with the same name" as another card, the base version of that card is created. [51]
  • If an artifact or troop would be randomly created but does not have a result at that cost or type, you instead get a That Which Does Not Exist. [52]

Deckbuilding

Deckbuilding is a requirement that must be met to put the card with Deckbuilding into your deck. [53]

  • A card with Deckbuilding will always state what is required to be put into the player's deck. [54]
  • Once a game begins, you no longer need to meet the Deckbuilding requirements. [55]
  • If a card is created or transformed into a card with Deckbuilding requirements it will function like a normal card despite not being legal to save your deck with the card in it. [56]

Die

  • Some cards have a power when they die. A "dies" trigger takes place when a troop goes from play to the crypt. [57]
  • Troops remember throughout the turn whether or not they’ve died this turn. This is tracked even if the troop is in any deck, hand, void, etc. [58]

Discard

  • Only cards in hand can be discarded. [59]

Free

Some cards can be played for free, or allow you to play other cards "for free." To play a card for free is to play it without paying the cards costs, additional costs, and to ignore its threshold requirements. [60]

  • Cards played for free are still added to the chain, where they must wait to resolve. [61]

Interrupt

Some cards can interrupt cards or powers on the chain. A card or power on the chain is called a link. A link that is interrupted gets removed from the chain and does nothing. If that link is a card, the card is put into its champion's crypt. [62]

  • A card can only be interrupted while it’s on the chain. A card in any other zone is not a legal target for interruption. [63]
  • A link can't interrupt itself. [64]

Look

Some cards allow you to “look” at cards in a hidden zone (another player’s hand, deck, or underground). Looking at cards allows only you to see them. [65]

Modifiers

Definite modifiers

  • Modifiers with a listed duration (cards with "get" or "gets" in relation to duration) are considered definite modifiers, and will be removed by reversion. [66]

Indefinite (continuous) modifiers

  • Indefinite modifiers are identified by the word "has". [67]
  • An indefinite modifier has no specified duration. [68]
  • An indefinite modifier can not be removed through reversion. [69]
  • Indefinite modifiers constantly checks the current game state and updates accordingly. [70]

Pet and Master

Some cards refer to a Pet or master. A card's "pet" is any troop that it created with the Pet troop type, while a Pet's "master" is the card that created it. [71]

  • The Pet/master relationship is remembered no matter what zone either card is in, or if one or both of them have transformed. [72]

Powers

  • If an action or resource card has multiple powers, they resolve in the order they're written on the card. [73]
  • When a Troop's power is added to the chain the power is independent of its source. [74]
  • Replacement effects can alter the way a power resolves. [75]

Triggered powers

A triggered power is a power that automatically does something when a condition is met. [76]

  • If a triggered power becomes active or inactive at the same time as the trigger event it’s watching for, it triggers. [77]
  • A non-target triggered power does not create a priority stop. [78]
  • Multiple non-targeting triggered powers triggering at the same time resolve in a random order. [79]
    • If a card has multiple triggered powers that triggers at the same time, the individual powers trigger in the order printed on the card. [80]
    • If multiple cards has multiple triggered powers that triggers at the same time, each card will resolve all of its triggered powers before powers on another card starts to resolve. [81]
  • A triggered power that triggers while another power is resolving won't resolve until the other power is resolved. [82]
  • If a triggered power is triggered by a troop dying, that troop isn't considered in play when the power resolves. [83]
  • "As [...]"-effects happens before "When [...]"-effects when the conditions for these two are met at the same time. [84]

Activated powers

1-SHOT

Some powers have the 1-SHOT restriction. Such powers can only be used once during the game. [85]

  • Reverting a card will "reload" its 1-SHOT powers, making them available for use again. [86]

Prismatic

A "prismatic card" is a card that has one or more shard. These can be denoted by the number of thresholds they have, and the prismatic card border around them. [87]

Prophesied

A "Prophesied card" is a card that has received a Prophecy power. [88]

Put into deck

Some cards reference "put a card into your deck." Putting a card into your deck means to randomly put that card somewhere into your deck. [89]

  • If the card is already in the deck and is put into the deck, its position in the deck is randomly determined. [90]
  • Putting cards in your deck does not change the order of the other cards in your deck. [91]

Quick

  • Quick is a supertype that appears on some cards typelines. Quick means, "You may play this card at any time you have priority." [92]

Replica

Some cards will create or transform into a replica of another card. A replica is the same as the original card, except that:

It is shardless.
It has no thresholds.
It is also an artifact.
If it is a troop, it is also a Robot and a Replica.
If the original was Unique, the replica is not.
The replica does not copy any modifiers on the card (including transformations).
If the original card has a gem in it, that gem will also be socketed in the replica.
Faction tags are lost in the making of Replicas.

[93]

Reveal

Some cards get revealed by cards or powers in the game. A revealed card is seen by each player in the game. [94]

Revert

Some cards have the power to revert cards. Reverting a card removes all definite modifiers (modifiers denoted by the "get/gets" wording on a card) from a card, as well as any transformations the card has gone through. Reverting a troop will also remove all damage from the troop. [95]

  • Modifiers with a listed duration (cards with "get" or "gets" in relation to duration) are considered definite modifiers, and will be removed by reversion. [96]
  • Indefinite modifiers (cards with "has" or "have" in relation to duration) are not removed by reversion. [97]
  • Reverting a card will also set the number of counters on it to the amount of each it started with (normally 0). [98]
  • Reverting a card will restore the use of its 1-SHOT powers. [99]

Sacrifice

Some cards or powers will tell you to "sacrifice a [thing]." To do so, choose a [thing] you control and put it into your crypt. [100]

  • A [thing] could be something with a type, cost, shard, card name, etc. [101]
  • Only cards in play can be sacrificed. [102]

Search

  • When searching a deck, cards are presented in an order not related to current order in the deck. [103]

Socketable

Some cards are Socketable. Such cards will be either Socketable Minor or Socketable Major. Socketable Minor cards can only be socketed with minor gems, but Socketable Major cards can use either major or minor gems. [104]

  • You may use four of the same gem in a given deck. [105]
  • Gems grant a power with a threshold requirement to the troop. Gems do not increase the threshold requirement of the troop itself. [106]
  • The powers granted by gems are not removed by the revert mechanic. [107]
  • Sockets are indefinite modifiers with a condition. [108]
  • When using your reserves between games of a match, you can change the gems in your Socketable troops. [109]
  • Some cards have two sockets. A card with both Socketable Minor and Socketable Minor may be socketed with any two minor gems. A card with Socketable Major and Socketable Minor may have any minor gem in its minor socket, and any minor or major gem put into its major gem socket. [110]
  • A card cannot be socketed with the same gem more than once. [111]
  • A Socketable card without a gem is not considered a "socketed card". [112]
  • If a card says to create a card "with [...] gems" the gems are socketed into the created card. [113]
  • A card with socketed gems loses the gems when transformed. [114]
    • If a socketed card is transformed and later reverted, all socketed gems will be back. [115]
  • If a card says to give "socketed powers" to a card, a permanent modifier with the socketed powers is added to the card. [116]

Stun

To stun something means:

Exhaust target card. It can’t ready during its controller’s next ready step. [117]

Target

  • Randomly selected targets can only target cards that can be legally targeted. [118]
  • Effects with random targeting where target(s) are chosen as the power is added to the chain (not when resolving) are visible on the chain. [119]

That Which Does Not Exist

Trait

A trait is anything that appears directly to the right of the hyphen on a card's typeline. This includes, subtypes, race, and class. This does not include whether or not the card is Unique. [123]

Race

  • Ardent races are: Coyotle, Elf, Human, Orc [124]
  • Underworld races are: Dwarf, Necrotic, Shin'hare, Vennen [125]
  • If a card or an effect refers to something of "[faction] race", it refers to something that matches both the faction and a race of the specified faction. [126]

Transform

Some cards will transform themselves or other cards into a different card. A card that transforms retains its orientation (ready or exhausted) and any counters, modifiers, and damage on the card unless otherwise stated. [127]

  • When a card transforms into another card all modifiers stay on the card, some exceptions apply: [128]
    • When a troop card would transform into a non-troop card, it reverts prior to the transformation. [129]
  • If a 1-SHOT power has been used it will be remembered through transformations. [130]
  • If an artifact or troop would be randomly transformed but does not have a result at that cost or type, you instead get a That Which Does Not Exist. [131]

Unique

Some cards are Unique. Such cards will have the Unique tag on the far right-hand side of the typeline. If at any time you control more than one card with the same name that is Unique, all but the most recent card to enter play are put into your crypt. [132]

  • Named Unique cards that transform into another card with the same primary name (Hop'hiro, Eldron etc.) are applicable to the same uniqueness violations. [133]
  • When a Unique card uses its own name in one of its powers, the name is a substitute for "this" unless otherwise specified. [134]

Void

Some cards will say to “void” a card. To void a card is to move it from its current location into its controller's void. [135]

  • A card can be voided from any zone. [136]

Additional Concepts

Simultaneity

  • In the event both champions die at the same time from fatal damage, a champion will be destroyed based on the following criteria:
    1. The champion with the greatest health wins. [137]
    2. If both champions have the same negative health, the champion who’s turn it is wins the game. [138]

Keywords

Allegiance

Allegiance is a keyword power that cards can have. It means:

The following power is active while you have another troop of the named characteristic in your hand or in play. [139]

  • A card can have multiple allegiances, either different or the same. The power will be active if the aforementioned characteristic is met. [140]
  • Allegiance checks whether or not the condition is met depending on the trigger point. [141]

Allegiance works the following way for each different card type:

  • Resources: While you have a troop with the bolded characteristic in your hand or in play, this power is active when you play this. This power will happen when the resource is played. [142]
  • Troops: While you have another troop with the bolded characteristic in your hand or in play, this power is active. This power will occur on resolution unless otherwise stated. [143]

Assault

Assault is a tag keyword power that cards can have. It means:

When a troop you control attacks, if this is in your hand, [ASSAULT EFFECT]. [144]

[ASSAULT EFFECT] will depend on the card in question. For example, Ayotochi Brute gets cost -1, whereas Death Dealer gets +1 ATK.

  • Assault is an untargeted triggered power. Therefore, players don't see it use the chain. [145]
  • Assault is a trigger in a hidden zone, your hand. Therefore, only the player who has the Assault card in their hand can see the visual effect of the Assault card triggering. [146]
  • Assault triggers the moment the troop declares an attack. If an attacking troop is destroyed, voided, or altered in some other way, it does not prevent the Assault trigger. [147]
  • Assault triggers once for each troop that attacks on any given turn. [148]
  • If a card has multiple instances of Assault, it will trigger once for each of the Assault powers yielding each Assault effect once per attacking troop. [149]
  • If a troop attacks multiple times in the same turn, Assault will trigger each time the troop attacks. [150]

Crush

Crush is a keyword power that troops can have. It means:

If this troop would deal more than fatal combat damage to all troops blocking it, it deals exactly fatal damage to those troops, and the rest to those troops' controller instead. [151]

  • Crush damage is applied after all other replacement/prevention modifiers for that packet have been applied. If that damage is reduced or prevented to, at, or below fatal for those troops, then no damage will be dealt to the champion this way. [152]
  • Damage dealt to a hero this way can be further modified or prevented, but only if that modifier did not affect the original packet. [153]
  • If a troop with Crush was blocked, but all of its blockers were removed from combat, it will deal its damage to the defending champion instead. [154]
  • Multiple instances of Crush are not cumulative. If a troop has Crush, and gains another instance of Crush, it does not have double Crush. [155]

Death Sentence

Death Sentence is a keyword power that cards can have. Death Sentence doesn’t do anything on its own, it’s a modifier that specific cards can interact with. [156]

Defensive

Defensive is a keyword power that troops can have. It means:

This can't attack. [157]

  • Multiple instances of Defensive are not cumulative. If a troop has Defensive, and gains another instance of Defensive, it does not have double Defensive. [158]

Empower

Empower is a keyword power that cards can have. It means:

While this is in your hand: 0 → Transform this into its Empowered version. Then, this gets +cost, +ATK, and +DEF each equal to this card's cost, ATK, and DEF. [159]

(Empowered cards are nearly the same as their base cards except that the numbers on the base powers of the cards are all doubled.)

  • You can only activate Empower once on a card. It will then transform into the Empowered version of itself. [160]
  • In the event a card does not have ATK or DEF, those will not be increased. [161]
  • In the event any of the values being added to the card are negative, the value does not become further negative. 0 will be added instead. [162]

Enthralled

Enthralled is a keyword power that cards can have.

  • Enthralled cards act no differently than normal cards. [163]
  • Enthralled doesn't do anything on its own; it's a modifier that specific cards can interact with. (The only card that currently interacts with an Enthralled card is Succubus). [164]
  • Multiple instances of Enthralled are not cumulative. If a card has Enthralled and gets another instance of Enthralled, it does not have doubled Enthralled. [165]

Escalation

Escalation is a tag keyword word that actions can have. It denotes actions that shuffle themselves into your deck upon resolution, and then modify all cards you own with the same name. [166]

  • Escalation takes place as part of the action resolving. It is not a payment power of the action. [167]
  • If an action with Escalation is interrupted (either through an effect or by having all of its targets made illegal), the action will not be shuffled into your deck, and the others you own will not escalate. [168]
  • Escalation will also affect other cards with that name waiting to resolve on the chain. [169]
  • An action with Escalation will also modify itself after being shuffled back into your deck. [170]

Flight

Flight is a keyword power that troops can have. It means:

This troop can only be blocked by troops with Flight. [171]

  • Multiple instances of Flight are not cumulative. If a troop has Flight, and gains another instance of Flight, it does not have double Flight. [172]
  • Flight is active in all zones. [173]

Inspire

Inspire is a tag keyword word that cards can have. It denotes powers that modify troops with a greater cost as they enter play under your control. [174]

  • Inspire modifies the troop before it enters play, so inspired troops will enter play with their new stats and powers. [175]
  • Troops can be inspired with multiple instances of the same power, though in some cases the granted power may be redundant. [176]
  • If a troop with Inspire grants a power that refers to "that troop," it is referring to the troop being granted the power, not the troop with Inspire. [177]
  • The card with Inspire must already be in play to inspire troops as they enter play. If an effect is putting multiple cards into play at the same time, and one or more of those cards has Inspire, they will not be able to inspire the troops entering play alongside them. [178]
  • Multiple instances of Inspire are cumulative. Thus, if a troop has the same Inspire power twice, it will Inspire its power twice to each troop it inspires. [179]

Invincible

Invincible is a keyword power that artifacts, constants, and troops can have. It means:

This can't be damaged or destroyed. [180]

  • A troop with Invincible will still die if its DEF is reduced to 0 or less. [181]
  • Multiple instances of Invincible are not cumulative. If a troop has Invincible, and gains another instance of Invincible, it does not have double Invincible. [182]

Lethal

Lethal is a keyword power that troops can have. It means:

Any damage that this troop would deal to another troop is considered fatal damage. [183]

  • If a troop with Lethal is blocked by two or more troops, only one damage will be dealt to the first troop. The remaining damage will be dealt to the second. In the event that there are more than two troops, one damage will be dealt to each troop before the final troop. The final troop is then dealt the remainder of the damage (assuming the lethal troop has enough ATK). [184]
  • If a troop with Lethal and Crush is blocked, it will deal one point of damage to each of its blockers, and the remaining damage to the opposing champion. [185]
  • Multiple instances of Lethal are not cumulative. If a troop has Lethal, and gains Lethal, it does not have double Lethal. [186]
  • Lethal works in any zone. [187]

Lifebound

Lifebound is a keyword power that cards can have. It means:

At the start of your turn, if you control a troop with Lifebound, put each troop from your crypt with Lifebound into play. [188]

Lifebound is currently a one-off keyword only on the legendary dragon Mylaanth the Lifebinder.

  • Lifebound is a keyword power that lives on troops but triggers a game rule on your champion to prevent Lifebound triggering multiple times a turn. [189]
  • Multiple instances of Lifebound are not cumulative. If a card has Lifebound and gets another instance of Lifebound, it does not have doubled Lifebound. [190]

Lifedrain

Lifedrain is a keyword power that troops can have. It means:

Damage dealt by this troop also causes you to gain that much health. [191]

  • If a troop with Lifedrain has no controller, it will cause its champion to gain health. [192]
  • The health gain from Lifedrain occurs at the same time the damage is dealt. Lifedrain is not a trigger. [193]
  • Multiple instances of Lifedrain are not cumulative. If a troop has Lifedrain, and gains another instance of Lifedrain, it does not have double Lifedrain. [194]
  • Lifedrain is active in all zones. [195]

Prophecy

Prophecy is a tag keyword that can be found on any card. It means:

The next [something] in your deck gets the following power. [196]

  • Cards may have multiple prophecy powers. [197]
  • Prophecy affects the next card of the named type in your deck, not the next one that enters your hand. [198]

Rage

Rage X is a keyword power that troops can have. It means:

When this troop attacks, it gets +X[ATK] [199]

  • Multiple instances of Rage are cumulative. If a troop has Rage 1 and Rage 3, it will sum these into Rage 4, and will get +4[ATK] when it attacks. [200]

Scrounge

Scrounge X is a keyword power that cards can have. It means:

As an additional cost to play this, you may void X troops from your crypt. If you do, this gets the following power when it resolves. [201]

Scrounge has two separate templatings. One is reserved for cards that will have powers added to them. This templating has the power after Scrounge X listed in quotation marks (“”). The second templating is for effects that will be modified on a card like ATK or DEF. In these circumstances, the templating is simply written out with the Scrounge effect.

  • Scrounge is an additional cost and can be played each time you play the card. [202]
  • Scrounge powers are additive. Therefore, if you pay the same Scrounge cost multiple times (through playing the card multiple times), the card can have the same effect or power added to it multiple times. [203]
  • A card can have multiple additional costs and therefore multiple Scrounge powers. [204]
  • The card with Scrounge tracks whether or not its additional costs are paid when it resolves. When the card resolves, if its Scrounge cost(s) were paid, the associated powers will be added to the card. If interrupted, the Scrounge card never resolves and therefore will not add power or modifier to itself. [205]
  • You cannot choose X=0 for a Scrounge cost. Therefore, Scrounging 0 is the same as not scrounging and will not trigger “When you Scrounge” effects. [206]

Shift

Shift is a keyword that power that troops can have. It means:

BASIC 1-SHOT X → This loses the following power and target troop you control gets this power. [207]

  • Shift only applies to the power immediately following the Shift keyword. [208]
  • If the target for the Shift power is no longer in play when Shift resolves, the target becomes illegal. The troop targeted by the Shift power will not receive the power after the Shift, and the troop trying to Shift the power off will retain the power. The 1-SHOT will be used up, however. [209]
  • X, the resource cost to activate the Shift power, will always be displayed directly on the troop. In the Armies of Myth chapter, that resource cost is always 1. [210]

Skyguard

Skyguard is a keyword that troops can have. It means:

This troop can block troops with Flight. [211]

  • Multiple instances of Skyguard are not cumulative. If a troop has Skyguard and acquires another instance of Skyguard, it does not have double Skyguard. [212]

Speed

Speed is a keyword power that troops can have. It means:

This troop can attack and use activated powers regardless of how long it’s been under your control. [213]

  • Multiple instances of Speed are not cumulative. If a troop has Speed, and acquires another instance of Speed, it does not have double Speed. [214]

Spellshield

Spellshield is a keyword power that artifacts, constants, and troops can have. It means:

This can’t be targeted by opposing cards and powers while in play. [215]

  • A card with Spellshield can't be targeted by opposing cards and effects only while in play. [216]
  • If all cards targeted by an opposing card or power get Spellshield in response to the opposing card or power on the chain, then the card or power is interrupted upon resolution because it has no legal targets. [217]
  • Multiple instances of Spellshield are not cumulative. If a troop has Spellshield, and gains another instance of Spellshield, it does not have double Spellshield. [218]

Steadfast

Steadfast is a keyword power that troops can have. It means:

This troop does not exhaust when it attacks. [219]

  • Multiple instances of Steadfast are not cumulative. If a troop has Steadfast, and acquires another instance of Steadfast, it does not have double Steadfast. [220]

Swiftstrike

Swiftswtrike is a keyword power that troops can have. It means:

This troop deals combat damage before troops without Swiftstrike. [221]

  • If a troop loses Swiftstrike after it has already dealt Swiftstrike combat damage, it will not deal damage again when troops without Swiftstrike deal damage. If a troop gains Swiftstrike after other troops with Swiftstrike have dealt their combat damage, it will deal damage when troops without Swiftstrike deal damage. [222]
  • Multiple instances of Swiftstrike are not cumulative. If a troop has Swiftstrike, and gains another instance of Swiftstrike, it does not have double Swiftstrike. [223]

Toxified

Toxified is a modified state that champions can be in:

  • Toxified champions act no differently than normal champions. [224]
  • Toxified doesn’t do anything on its own, it’s a modifier that specific cards can interact with. [225]
  • Multiple instances of Toxified are not cumulative. If a card is Toxified, and gains another instance of Toxified, it does not have double Toxified. [226]

Tunneling

Tunneling is a keyword power that troops can have. It means:

You can tunnel this card by paying its Tunneling cost, during your main phase, while you have priority, and while the chain is empty. Tunneling this card puts it underground. An underground card remains hidden from your opponent until it surfaces. An underground card cannot be affected by cards or powers that effect cards in play. At the start of your turn, each underground card with Tunneling gets a tunneling counter. An underground card surfaces when the number of tunneling counters on it is greater than or equal to its Tunneling number. When an underground card surfaces, it is played for free immediately, and gets Speed until end of turn. [227]

  • You must have the required thresholds to tunnel the troop. [228]
  • Underground troops are not considered in play, therefore, troops that are tunneled are not affected by cards and powers affecting cards in play. [229]
  • The identity of underground troops is a secret to opposing champions. [230]
  • Uniqueness checks while underground. A champion may not have two cards with the same Uniqueness tag underground and in play. [231]
  • Multiple instances of Tunneling are cumulative. If a troop has Tunneling 3, and it gets Tunneling 2, its Tunneling number is now 5. [232]

Unblockable

Unblockable is a keyword that troops can have. It means:

This troop can't be blocked. [233]

  • Troops that have "Opposing troops must block this if able" and Unblockable still cannot be blocked. [234]
  • Multiple instances of Unblockable are not cumulative. If a troop is Unblockable, and gains another instance of Unblockable, it does not have double Unblockable. [235]

Valorous

Valorous is a keyword power that cards can have.

  • Valorous cards act no differently than normal cards. [236]
  • Only the card Valor can give cards Valorous. [237]
  • Multiple instances of Valorous are not cumulative. If a card has Valorous and gets another instance of Valorous, it does not have doubled Valorous. [238]

Zones

  • There are currently two shared zones, in play and the chain. [239]
  • The non-shared zones are currently a crypt, a void, a deck, a hand and an underground. [240]
  • An effect that refers to "your zones" does not influence shared zones. [241]

Deck

  • Revealing or looking at cards in a deck and then putting them back into the same deck does not count as the cards entering the deck. [242]

Underground

  • Cards underground are not considered being in play. [243]

Official documents

Set 1 FAQ

Set 2 FAQ

Set 4 FAQ

Set 5 FAQ

Keywords

Copies and Replicas article

Transformation article